Skip to navigation

YIVO Institute for Jewish Research

Support YIVO
YIVO Institute for Jewish Research » Support Yivo » --Planned Giving - ancienne version » Leaving a Legacy: The Gaon Society

Leaving a Legacy: The Gaon Society

Insert Image

Named for the 18th-century Rabbi Elijah Ben Solomon Zalman – the Vilna Gaon – The Gaon Society was established to recognize and thank YIVO supporters who have created a legacy for YIVO in their wills or trusts. Like the Vilna Gaon, who was known for his intellect and for the importance he placed on tzedakah, these friends understand and appreciate the role YIVO plays in preserving our heritage for future generations.

Please let us know if YIVO is already included in your estate plans so we may invite you to join this select group. Gaon Society members receive twice-yearly mailings of YIVO News/Yedies exhibition catalogs and the Gaon Society Newsletter, preferred seating at public programs, and an invitation to Gaon Society gatherings.

Brochure Download the Brochure

For more information, or to discuss your philanthropic options, please call Lorri Greif, Planned Giving Officer, at 212-294-8301 ext. 6108, or e-mail her at You can also write to her:

Lorri Greif, Planned Giving Officer
YIVO Institute for Jewish Research
15 West 16th Street
New York, NY 10011-6301

Gaon Society Members
Rosina Abramson Sylvia Antonier-Scher Mr. Harold Baron
Mr. William Begell Mr. Roger Berkowitz Mrs. Rhoda Berkowitz
Dr. Sylvia Brody Axelrad Ms. Eliane Bukantz Mr. Hyman Cohen
Mrs. Shirley Cohen Ms. Eva Eckert Mr. Sol Eldman
Mrs. Betty Eldman Mr. Stanley Engelstein Mr. Gene Forrell
Mrs. Mildred Forrell Mrs. Shulamis Levin Friedman Mr. Max Gitter
Ms. Vicki Gold Mr. Nathan Goldstein Dr. William Goldstein
Ms. Linda Grossman Mr. Warren Grover Mr. Edwin Hantman
Dr. Laura Hapke Mr. George Hecht Ms. Felice Itzkoff
Mrs. Louisa Johnston Mr. Henry Kellen Mr. David Levine
Mrs. Ruth Levine Mr. Isaac Levine Mrs. Liora Levine
Ms. Ella Lidsky Mr. Leo Melamed Mr. Herbert J. Maletz
Mr. Milton Ohring Mrs. Ahrona Ohring Mr. Louis Osofsky
Mr. Martin Peretz Ms. Bathsheba Phillips Ms. Ethel Roberts
Ms. Enid Sandri Mr. Abraham Sherman Mr. Bruce Slovin
Mr. Richard Stein Mrs. Carole Stein Mr. Jonathan Sternberg
Ms. Leora Klaymer Stewart Dr. Robert Tartell Mrs. Lottie Tartell
Prof. Franklin Toker Mr. Milton Weiner Ms. Edith Weiss
Dr. Chava Weissler Dr. Joan Wertheim Anonymous (9)

Matured Estates
Sidney Krum Eta Taub Jacob Waisbord